Everton 2-1 Saints: Sticky Toffee PuddINGS

Right, we’ve got a lot to get through in this post and a long day at St Mary’s today has worn me out, so let’s get on with it. This post shall be offering my thoughts on all that has happened this past week, with the Fans’ Forum, the trip to Goodison and the Open Training Session.

Our opening game of the season saw us draw 0-0 against Burnley. The first half performance drew a lot of flack, but the switch to a back four and the introduction of Ings and Elyounoussi changed the game, and we carried our biggest attacking threat in two seasons, though, as always, failed to score at home. Nevertheless, the final third of the game raised spirits and optimism, and meant that the impending Fans’ Forum was not as negative as it could have been.

FANS’ FORUM:

fans' forum

Having said that, the first two questions – (To Reed) ‘Why did you waste £19million on Carrillo’ and (To Reed and Krueger) ‘Why haven’t you done the honourable thing and resigned?’ – were very strong, and I must admit it was very uncomfortable to witness; worsened by the agreeing applause from the audience. They are fair enough questions, but I felt a bit more tact in the wording may have resulted in a more enlightening response. Mind you, at least those two didn’t mention a stadium expansion… I have been trying to get my head around that gentleman’s reasoning of ‘other clubs have empty grounds’, but so far, I’ve only managed to infer that he was inebriated.

After that, the questions eased off, but I did think Les Reed came across well. He was nervous, and visibly upset by the reception, but he spoke with clarity about the decisions he’s made, and why the club is run as it is. I won’t say he gave me confidence, but I understood his position more and could see he’s doing all he can for the club, and always has. As for Ralph… I’ve been at two events he’s spoken at this year and both times he’s gone on to show that his knowledge of the club doesn’t quite equate to his ‘passion’. I could almost forgive him his nonsensical business talk if he actually fact checked his statistics and history regarding the club. And as for his pronunciation of ‘Premier League’… I do worry about what gets lost in translation between Canadian businessman Ralph Krueger and doesn’t-speak-any-English Chinese owner Mr Gao. Maybe the only reason Krueger’s still in a job is because he hasn’t been able to quite translate the fact he’s doing a shite job.

Danny Ings and Mark Hughes were also in attendance, both coming across well, though they were only there to deflect the growing animosity from the crowd. At one point the fans started getting vocal towards the board, so Adam Blackmore decided to talk about Everton away that weekend with Sparky instead…

EVERTON 2-1 SAINTS:

IMG_6057

1997 was the last time we won at Goodison Park, the year before I was born. It has always been a bogey ground for us – even getting a draw there last year resulted in heartbreak and pain (thankfully temporary, replaced by euphoria three days later). Despite this, I was excited to make my first trip to Everton for the first away game of the season.

I was once again there thanks to 90Min, which meant another FanVoice vlog. A loss always results in an entertaining upload, and I must say I think this is definitely one of my best. Hope you enjoy!

As ever, for the extended edition, check out my own edit.

Glorious sunshine greeted us on Merseyside after the 6 hour coach journey, which I was not prepared for. The sun was directly on us in the Bullens Road Stand and I instantly regretted my choice of black jeans – the first time I’d worn them in daytime in months.

The team sheet was surprising. The positives were Ings started and we’d stuck with a back four, however the negative was major and arguably was our undoing. Unbeknownst to us at the time, Vestergaard had been taken ill over night, resulting in a centre back pairing of Hoedt and Stephens. I’ll be honest, every time I see that lineup I lose faith, and every time that loss of faith is vindicated.

The signs were there when in the opening ten minutes, Everton had two free headers, both from free kicks. Thankfully McCarthy held onto Keane and Tosun’s efforts, but it was no surprise that of the two goals we went onto concede, one was from a free kick, and one was from a free header…

The training ground routine caught us out, and Walcott slotted home for the first, but it was the second that we really shouldn’t be conceding – however always do with that defence. Cédric marking Richarlison was only going to go one way. Stephens and Hoedt never seem to deal with aerial balls into the box, which is why it was so refreshing to see every ball cleared by Vestergaard last week. If he had played, I think we might have won.

Another issue with our play was how bloody dirty we were. Niggly unnecessary fouls which resulted in dangerous free kicks – having conceded from one, we didn’t learn and Keane had another free header held by McCarthy. Lee Mason put in a shocking performance – arguably for both teams in retrospect, but at the time it certainly felt as though he favoured the Toffees. Awarding them free kick after free kick, no action on the Pickford high boot challenge despite the evidence, allowing the Richarlison theatrics of going down injured and ‘needing treatment’ at least six times to continue…

We brought it on ourselves with how we played, and Everton could’ve and should’ve won by more – Walcott had a goal chalked off for a marginal offside and then sliced wide a chance in a 1v1 with Alex McCarthy. The defending was dire in truth, and we could’ve told you it would be at 2pm when the lineups were announced. Hopefully, this Saturday will see the pairing of Yoshida and Vestegaard. Please.

For all our defensive woes and dirty play, we had our chances. In the first half Austin and Ings both headed wide, whilst a Cédric shot spilled by Pickford drew a world class save from England’s No.1 to tip Ings’ follow up on to the bar.

Eventually, Danny Ings did get his first Southampton goal. A Ward-Prowse corner, flicked on by Lemina, fell kindly to the deadline day signing who side footed in on the half volley. A smart strike for his first goal – a bright spark again, as was Redmond again, who seems to have really found his confidence.

It was a disappointing result but ultimately Everton shaded the game and were worthy of the three points. However, I’m refusing to be drawn into the negative reaction that erupted on Twitter and SaintsWeb. Only one of our new signings started, and when they’re all integrated I think we’ll be a very competitive outfit; not least because Hoedt and Stephens won’t be starting.

Perhaps predicting the inevitable traditional Goodison outcome, Saints scheduled a feel good family day out two days later.

OPEN TRAINING SESSION: 

IMG_E6181

I’m interested to know what you made of today. It was all done with good intention, and was a brilliant initiative given the disconnect between club and fans last season, but I felt that it was very poorly organised. It seemed to me that they weren’t prepared for the volume of supporters there, despite the fact most tickets had been bought in advance…

It all started this morning with two separate queues to get into the Kingsland stand, both as long as each other, forming a while before the gates opened. However, the queue I was in, was told to move to the other queue, ten minutes after the gates had opened?! So one set of turnstiles for every supporter arriving for the start of the day. Good job.

Once inside, we sat and watched the squad take their photo, and then do their morning training session. A notable absence was Lemina – wife in labour, moving away or stropping that he isn’t moving away? Who knows? Mohamed Elyounoussi also didn’t train having not recovered from his injury. Finally, an admission I found strange was that of Josh Sims, until tonight when it was announced that he is now on a season long loan at Reading. He needed first team football, though I hoped that would be here. He offers pace and trickery that our side lacks, and now leaves us with only two wingers. I’m disappointed to see him go but look forward to him ripping up the Championship.

Not many conclusions are to be drawn from the training session, but I was impressed with Gallagher; strength, pace and all kinds of finishes in his locker. Vestergaard too also looked a tidy unit in front of goal. It was entertaining, though it probably wasn’t particularly interesting for the kids who made up the majority of the crowd.

They were there for the signings. Cue disasterclass #2.

I was lucky that I was near the front of the queue, actually in the metal gated area. I was probably in the first fifth of my line, but by the time I got in, the session was almost over. I feel sorry for those who queued for three hours for no reason, I’m just assuming what happened after I left but I’d say over half the crowd went home without meeting the players. That was never going to go down well with children.

I was fortunate and met the following players:

  • McQueen
  • Gunn
  • Austin
  • Stephens (Thankfully unaware that I run a blog and can be prone to slating him on said blog.)
  • Gabbiadini
  • Redmond
  • Ward-Prowse
  • McCarthy
  • Gallagher
  • Targett
  • Vestergaard
  • Højbjerg

I decided to take my programme from the Everton game to get signed, as that offered a good space for their signatures:

IMG_6182 (2).JPG

However, rather embarrassingly, neither Gallagher or Matt Targett were featured in the programme, so they awkwardly signed in space underneath a massive picture of Danny Ings. Sorry lads.

And there we have it, I think I’m all caught up now on all that’s happened in the last week. Nope, I’m not, as I wrote that sentence I remembered Saints have been drawn against Brighton at The Amex in the second round of The Carabao Cup next Tuesday. The only all-Premier League tie of the round, and judging by their performance versus Man United yesterday, it’s going to be tough. We never get easy draws do we…

Okay that really is everything now. A mixed week, positives and negatives, good receptions and bad receptions, but we are really back in the swing of things now and oh how I’ve missed it. At the moment it is starting to feel like last season all over again though – Mark Hughes is already attracting criticism – so hopefully we soon get a win to turn our fortunes around. And what better way to start than by getting three points off Puel, after the 4-1 shambles last year? No Vardy means things are already going in our favour…

I’ll be back next weekend with another vlog and blog post!

Leave a comment